Friday, September 25, 2009

PEZ...and the one thing every bride needs most (Aside from a great photographer)

I was tempted to try to explain how I got on this topic, so that you wouldn't think that I'm a weirdo...but then I realize that ship has sailed! So in the spirit of good fun...on with the post!

So... for the past week or so, every day when I take my shower I think about Christmases past and all of the Scooby-doo, Wonderwoman, Ninja Turtles and other fabulous PEZ dispensers that we used to get in our stockings as kids.  As a kid you never thought about how weird it is to eat candy that pops out of a superhero's neck area, but I do think about that now. Even still, I think I may get myself a new PEZ dispenser and taste some of that deliciously bad candy.  But why PEZ and why, oh why, do I think about that in the shower?  Because every now and then one changes the type of bodywash one buys...and sometimes it smells exactly like PEZ candy, even though they call it "Energizing Citrus".  It's not my style to throw out perfectly good bodywash ("But...", you are probably saying, "...it smells like PEZ!"), so if I smell like candy, well that's why.

And since we're on the subject of candy, I thought I would share a link to some free chocolate (from Mars.  The company.) for my brides, who deserve chocolate while they plan their wedding.  Because let's face it...that's tough. :)



P.S. They are giving away chocolate every Friday. Enjoy

In other news STAY TUNED THIS WEEKEND FOR THE LAUNCH OF THE NEW WEBSITE.  I can't say exactly when yet, because I like to keep people on their toes..we're rolling out a new look and some great new products/packages! I'm excited! You too?

Well be sure to check in with Your Favorite Nashville Wedding Photographers over the weekend to get a first peek!









Until next time!
Kristin

Monday, September 21, 2009

Identity

Let's be honest.  You don't think much about who you are until you have to (in actual words) describe yourself. 

I'm on this subject because I've been drafting text for the "About Us" section of the new website (I've mentioned this...coming soon).  I've changed it ten-thousand times already, because I haven't yet found two sentences that fit just right.  That's right, it's about a paragraph.  Take this blog post as proof that I'm not short of things to say...it's just sometimes less is harder.  Maybe because less it more. Haha.  Sorry.

My Mom is awesome
Even though it was very short, when I wrote the part for mom it just made sense - because I know who she is to me. She may read it and think "What the heck was she on!?".  But there are things that you can know about someone else that may not make your own radar.  I know she's a gifted artist, I've spent my life around her watching the things she creates. She can very literally make just about anything, always with near professional results.  Wood carvings, drawings, paintings, any wood project, lithographs, calligraphy and of course, photography.  For example she (with no prior experience) made an ice carving for my wedding, and my brother's wedding. It's ridiculous!

I know that she really does care about the people that we work with, and the final product from our sessions(this is one area we're a lot alike in...see my perfectionism below).  I also found out the other day that she prays for each couple we work with - for their relationship, their lives together and the faithfulness of their love.  To me that's awesome - even if you don't see eye-to-eye with us on our beliefs (in Jesus Christ), I think you can recognize that as the mark of someone who really cares. 

Granted I've spent my entire life around her, and may be vaguely biased, but she is an amazing person.  Of course she would never tell you this, and may or may not agree with my assessment, because she is also very humble.



I'm a totally different person.  
Now I'll tell you what I think about myself...since writing about myself is what's got myself in such an uproar. (Yes I know I mis-used "myself" there, but it made me think of Austin Powers and that was kind of funny.)  I realize this is borderline stream of consciousness, but bear with me, it could be fun.


Sometimes I'm a talk first and think later kind of girl, but I'm learning to get a grip on that. :) 

I'm a perfectionist when it comes to my creations - photo shoots, websites, crafts anything I make. For things I make, even perfect isn't perfect enough.  I can refine and refine and refine until I drive myself crazy.  I usually do.  But on the other hand this means my brides get something awesome.  Which I love.  Which may also contribute a little to my mania. (For everyone who's been to my house and is right now screaming "HOLD THE PHONE!!!" This doesn't apply to my house. I'm learning to get a grip on that, too.) 

In regards to photography, I know what I like to see and I can usually make that happen. 

I love weddings.  I loved weddings before I worked in weddings.  Everything about them is so cool, but now that I'm married I love weddings even more (because it reminds me of my own, duh!).  Weddings have evolved into such a neat tradition...I mean, a lot of things about wedding tradition seems to stem from "the olden days" when the bride was a captive and the wedding party was there to keep her from getting away, rather than join the bride and groom in celebration.  Now, each wedding is so personalized a celebration that when you go to a couple's wedding, you get a glimpse into the love story that they have come to join together.  That's right, I'm just waiting for a glimpse into people's lives...kind of like a mental peeping tom.  Ha.  Jussst Kiddding.  But in all seriousness, one of the reasons I like doing this so much is because I get to be the 'bridge' between that day and the rest of a couple's lives.  So that when they forget any of the good things that brought them together, they can look at the images we took and it will bring that moment back.  Sappy, I know. Hush.

Also,(follow me here...) I realize that because in photography we're playing with light, it isn't always about capturing exactly what is there (what everyone else sees with their eyes). The camera allows the photographer to capture what we want to see to a certain degree (it's not magic.).   It's an opportunity to take something away from a scene that may be just a little more beautiful, or a little more perfect than it was through our eyes.  It lets us take away something from the wedding day that looks the same way it felt.  Which is amazing.  Maybe it is a little magic. 


So I know all that, but I can't get together a couple sentences that explains it very well.  Why is it so hard to articulate to someone else who we are?  Maybe I don't see about myself the things that would be easy to articulate. 

For instance, I have one particularly wonderful friend who feels as though "single" is the word that describes them.  What does that even mean?  It doesn't say anything about this person, but they think it does.  If we're looking for a short description for them, it should read something like "Loyal friend, intelligent conversationalist, well-educated classy , fun loving hockey fan who also has great taste in clothes and accessories.".  But those are things other people think about you, and things most people don't think about themselves.  Unless you are really arrogant, which we may have to cover in another post. 

 
Wait a minute.  I may have just had a true revelation, live, here "on the air" today.  Well maybe not.  But maybe I should get someone who knows me to write my two "About Me" sentences, because maybe I can only see the things that I've chosen to see.  Like my friend. 

Which would make it hard to write about oneself...

That's all for now...
Kristin

P.S.  Here's a photo.  When you look closely, this dragonfly is really pretty.  (If I haven't mentioned it before, you can enlarge all my post photos by clicking on them.)


Friday, September 18, 2009

Fun on the lake

So I'm a bad blogger. We knew that.  Haha! As a result, I'm changing my bloggin' commitment - Forget that old Monday-Wendesday-Friday blog you so mistakenly (kidding...sorry) thought you could expect.  How does "I'll drop you a note a couple times a week" sound?  Good?  Good.

Now...let's get started.

A couple weeks ago (labor day, whenever that was). I mentioned going down to Georgia.  Let  me (finally) tell you what happened! As expected, things chilled out a whole lot once we hit the road.  We fueled up with Venom energy drinks (the red ones are nasty, btw!) and headed down to Georgia!


 


Chase got some on-the-road camera training, and here are a couple of his shots!  I've always wondered what kinds of things are interesting to guys on the road...






I know, it's random but this photo really cracks me up because it was one of at least 12 tractor photos he took :)



 We had a good time getting there, but we really had a lot of fun once we got on the lake. I even tried some new things...like driving a jet ski! I know this is small potatoes for most people but, for those of you who know me well, you know high adventure isn't always my thing.  However, Chase let me drive for a long time and I actually had a blast!

A day or so later Don & Chris and Ben & Julie met us down there for some family fun.  We played Sorry (it has been a LONG time)





Annd...the in-evitable midgame rule check!




The next day Don drove us around on the boat, and Ben & Chase decided to go tubing (even though it was a little chilly). Here are a couple of my favorite shots from that little extravaganza.  First, here's Don getting everything ready for them to ride.




Ben, holding on for dear life!


Chase likes to showboat every so often...


But even the proudest tubers (no pun intended, Chase..."Mr Potato Head", my favorite couch potato! Sorry that was really bad!) sometimes take a spill. :)






Here's Julie & Chris, aren't they cute?








There was a gorgeous sunset the last evening we were there...




After that we took one last boat ride and headed home.  Ah, I only wish long weekends lasted just a little longer!  We had a great time and can't wait to go back.



In other news, we are meeting with one of our Fall Brides (& Grooms) this evening for an engagement shoot!  I'm so excited because they are coming all the way in from Pennsylvania this weekend for wedding prep and we get to join in! I'll have photos from that soon to share.

Until next time!
Kristin

Nashville Wedding Photography

Monday, September 14, 2009

The things we don't want to talk about

I don't know how to start this one... Usually when I start a post I have an idea of what to say and the words just sort of unroll.  Today is a little different, because it's something I don't really want to talk about.  But I brought it up (the other day...) so I feel like the end of the story deserves to be told. 

Maybe I should also say, if you are at all sensitive about pets...don't read on.

Felix... 

Felix came back the other day, hungrier and smaller than ever.   We decided that the best thing we could do would be to catch him so we could feed him a small amount every few hours until he was healthy, then let him be our outdoor cat.

Chase built him an amazing house...he spent all Saturday doing it it was sturdy and had a solid plywood lid (with a hinge so we could take things in and out).  While he was building I fed Felix, and then would watch him practically pass out... like he wasn't strong enough to stay awake and digest food at the same time. In fact he fell asleep with his tongue hanging out on my arm, rolled up like a little orange cinnamon bun on my lap. 

Later that night we put him in his house for the night and went to bed.  The next morning we came out and something had attacked the house - coyotes, dogs...something tore a huge portion of the roof out and knocked one of the side panels in.  Felix was gone, and we hoped he had been fast enough to escape whatever came for him... but we later found that he hadn't been.

I can't think too long on this because I got pretty attached to him in the short time he was around...  but that's what happened. 

So, are you bummed now?  Me too.   I'm not going to post a picture on this one...because it's just going to bum me out even more to see his sweet orange face.

Crap, now I've got to go fix my makeup...! I promise to report back soon with better news. 

Until then....
Kristin

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Felix

We first met Felix August 22nd.  He wandered up when Chase and I were out in the backyard.  He was a cute little guy, but did seem pretty thin.  We hoped he would find his way back to his rightful owner, so we let him wander off.

Here's a terrible photo from the first night we ran into him...He was a wily little thing.



A few days went by and we heard a sorrowful moan coming out of the woods.  It was Felix again, and he was thinner than ever.  This time we concluded that he must have been dumped out in the woods near our house and came looking for food.  It broke my heart to see him so pathetic and emaciated.  He ate like he hadn't seen food in days, which he probably hadn't.  This was just the day before we went out of town, so we fed him and also set some food out for him to find while we were gone.


He's so scrawny.  I couldn't believe how much he ate...

  

We looked for Felix every day after we came home, but he didn't come back until yesterday night.  We thought maybe he hadn't made it...but there he was!  Now it seems like he's going to stay around, so i think we'll be building a house for him him tonight. 

Here he was yesterday, a little more scrawny, and a little orange-ier than before...

 



Since yesterday I found an article on starvation recovery for animals, so we'll be getting him some better food and vitamins.  I'll keep you guys posted on anything interesting that happens in the mean time.


Also, I should have an update for you on our trip from this past weekend... I took so many pictures (thousands) it's taking me a little while to get them sorted!

Until then!
Kristin




Thursday, September 3, 2009

Georgia on my mind

For those of you who have a betting pool going as to when we'd have the first late/missed post on this blog since I re-purposed it...time to collect! Guilt admitted, but I'm not sorry! Haha. :)

My Excuse
I've been running around like a crazy person since we last talked (what's new right?)! Chase and I are going on a long weekend visit to Georgia and we've been trying to pack (which honestly is more like actually moving. Seriously, we take EV-ERY-THING.). We are completely ridiculous when it comes to travel (even short term like this). Please, let me explain.

The detailed breakdown


Now keep in mind, this is important info here and I don't want you to miss a single point! (In other words, if you have something remotely productive or useful to do...well, now would be a good time for you to tune out! Now you can't say I didn't warn you ;) )


The assembly of Kristin's personal articles
I have gear for every occasion. In fact if someone were for some reason to stumble upon my suitcase and go through it, they (would mainly be confused, but) would probably realize this suitcase could be on its way to the frozen tundra, a burning hot tropical beach, a steamy amazon rainforest, the driest of deserts... or most anyplace in between. But their first guess probably wouldn't be Georgia. I don't roll like that. What I mean to say is, we travel prepared for everything so that when adventure strikes (come on! It happens...) we are ready.

Now that's just me...


The assembly of Chase's personal articles

Chase is a different story. His suitcase contains the exact number of garments appropriate to the type and length of trip. He is neat, precise and knows exactly what the moment calls for. When I say precise, I mean...borderline obsessive (Just kidding, just kidding). But seriously I did hear him say these words at around 10:30pm when we were in a hurry

"This means I'm going to miss out on the joy of properly folded laundry."

And he meant it. :) Properly folded may be a slight understatement...what (I presume) he meant to say was fabric origami. Apparently when done properly, laundry is actually that intricate! While these are words you would never hear from me, I can definitely appreciate the meticulous nature of my husband and it's one of the differences about him that (when I stop whining about how long it's taking...) I really do love. This side shows up in everything he does...which means that even his suitcase falls under the "Finely Crafted" category.

The cramming of the aforementioned articles into a very small car
First I should say, I planned the groceries for the trip in my standard fashion. By "my standard fashion" I mean, I didn't plan the groceries at all, so we went hungry to the grocery store last night before dinner and bought the place out of junk food. At about 11pm last night, I began packing (packing in the same way you might pack brown sugar into a cup measure. Really more like compacting.) the trunk. We managed to get the dry goods and our bags (one less precise than the other) into the trunk. The trunk closed without any crunching, which means it was a success.

The cooler project
We always save the loading of the cooler for last thing before we leave.

[As a side note: We both planned to take a half day off so we could get there early. In theory this is a great idea, but you never really think about the fact that this means you have to be completely ready for travel at like 6:15am when you would normally leave for work. So while you read this, bear in mind that we haven't yet had our coffee and are slightly wild eyed in an effort to get to work on time. So please excuse the irrational behavior.]

Due to a combination of the shape of our cooler, the size of the car and a support beam in the garage that only allows the car door to open partially when it's parked...there's only one way to load the cooler: Put the cooler in the back seat (completely empty) and then drop the contents into the cooler through the 1.5-2.0ft crack in the car door. No big deal. So this morning, like two burglars attempting to ransack our own refrigerator, we piled our cooler items into trash bags and rushed them out to the cooler already in the car and poked them in. In the same manner Chase procured some ice and poked it in, and we were locked and loaded.

Who/What/When/Why/Where
We have a lot of history in Georgia... Chase and I went there on our first vacation together, to a little town called Helen (Cute, cute place, it's actually a little Bavarian style Alpine Town). Nearly every subsequent year, we've gone down for a small scale family reunion on Chase's Dad's side of the family. So now it's a tradition. This time we'll be hanging out with one of Chase's brothers and his wife (See my post about Ben & Julie) and Chase's Dad & Stepmom. We look forward to this every year.

The Wrap-up
We both made it to work. We have yet to embark on the actual journey, but I will update you on how it goes in the next few days (most likely Tuesday, because I don't think we will have internet access where we are going).Not suprisingly the trips we take tend to be much less manic than the planning/packing, but I'm sure I will return with good stories to tell (and pictures). If anyone needs to get in touch with one of us (Me or Mom) for business reasons, Mom will be "manning the fort", so you should be able to get in touch with her.

When I originally thought about telling you all this, I thought I would have some OLD pictures available from past trips... but I will have to owe you because I ran out of time to find them (on disc). Instead, (in honor of the grilling we'll all be doing for Labor Day....) please console yourself with one of my new favorites photos...entitled

"One of these things is not like the others".



As always, thanks for reading and I hope you and your family have a happy and safe Labor Day weekend!

Until next week!
Kristin

Nashville Wedding Photography